Who Has The Most MVPs In The NBA? (Complete Guide)

Key Takeaways:

  • The NBA Most Valuable Player (MVP) award recognizes the league’s top performer during the regular season, based on a panel of sportswriters and broadcasters’ votes.
  • Out of all players in NBA history, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar has won the most MVP awards with six, followed closely by Michael Jordan with five. Bill Russell, Wilt Chamberlain, Bob Pettit, and Nikola Jokic have each won four MVPs.
  • Only a handful of players have won consecutive MVP awards, including Bill Russell, Wilt Chamberlain, and Larry Bird, highlighting their sustained dominance in the league.

Introduction to NBA Most Valuable Player Award

The NBA Most Valuable Player Award is a prized recognition in pro basketball. It’s presented to the player who has had the greatest impact on their team during the NBA Regular Season. A panel of sports broadcasters and writers select the recipient, making it a great honor.

Since 1956, the NBA MVP Award has become an integral part of the NBA. Some of the greatest players of all time have won it – Michael Jordan, Kobe Bryant, and LeBron James. It’s a symbol of excellence for players and fans.

Kareem Abdul-Jabbar leads the MVP winners with six awards. Michael Jordan has five, and LeBron James and Bill Russell have four each. These players are among the most celebrated in NBA history.

Winning the NBA MVP Award is highly prestigious. It symbolizes exceptional performances in the NBA Regular Season. At the NBA’s annual awards ceremony, recipients of the award are recognized as the best players in the league that season – standing among basketball’s elite.

Most MVP Awards in NBA History

In the NBA’s past, many players have shined due to their exceptional performances. One way to recognize them is by the number of MVP awards they have won.

Winning the MVP award is a huge honor for a basketball player, as it acknowledges their performance during the season and playoffs.

So, who has the most MVPs in the NBA? Take a look below:

Kareem Abdul-Jabbar6
Michael Jordan5
Bill Russell5
Wilt Chamberlain4
LeBron James4
Moses Malone3
Larry Bird3
Magic Johnson3
Bob Pettit2

Consecutive MVP Awards

The NBA has seen many players win consecutive MVP awards. This is an honor given to players who have contributed most to the success of their team during a season. It recognizes their talent and impact on their team’s wins.

Bill Russell is one of the most legendary players who won four MVP awards in a row from 1961 to 1964. Wilt Chamberlain, Larry Bird, and LeBron James all got this award twice in a row, showing their skill and court dominance.

Surprisingly, Michael Jordan, considered one of the best basketball players of all time, only got back-to-back awards in his seventh season. Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, who holds the record for most career MVP awards, only got consecutive awards once. But, their talent and influence on the game cannot be underestimated.

Selection Process for MVP Award

The NBA MVP award is an esteemed honour for basketball players. It is awarded to the player that has performed outstanding during the regular season, taking into account things like performance, team success and sportsmanship.

The process for selecting a MVP is complex. It involves a group of journalists and broadcasters that follow the NBA. Each member votes for a first, second and third-place player, and the one with the most points wins. For eligibility, players must have played in at least 58 regular season games and not been suspended for any reason. Plus, those who have led their teams to the playoffs have an advantage when voting for MVP.

The MVP award focuses on individual performance, but team success is also important. Players who have helped their team excel and shown sportsmanship and leadership are seen as strong contenders. Also, former MVP winners and repeat nominees are given more consideration than first-time candidates. It is clear the selection process for this award is designed to recognize not only individual performance, but also the impact a player has had on their team’s success.

Current MVP Holder and Hall of Famers

In the NBA, there are players with both MVP awards and Hall of Fame status. These players are talented and have impacted basketball. For example, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar has been named MVP six times and was inducted in 1995. Bill Russell, a Boston Celtic player, also has both. He won MVP five times and was inducted in 1975. Additionally, Michael Jordan and LeBron James both won MVPs and will likely enter the Hall of Fame. Not all MVP holders are also Hall of Famers. However, those who have achieved both, have cemented their legacy as some of the greatest players ever.


Kareem Abdul-Jabbar stands alone with an amazing six MVP awards. Michael Jordan and LeBron James have five each, but couldn’t match Abdul-Jabbar’s dominance.

This is a testament to his skill and dedication. Other contenders have come close, but none have surpassed him. These thoughts prove Abdul-Jabbar’s place among the NBA’s greatest.

Five Facts About NBA Players with the Most MVP Awards:

  • ✅ Kareem Abdul-Jabbar has won the most NBA MVP awards, with six in total. (Source: Team Research)
  • ✅ Both Michael Jordan and Bill Russell come close behind with five MVP awards each. (Source: Team Research)
  • ✅ LeBron James and Wilt Chamberlain have four NBA MVP awards apiece. (Source: Team Research)
  • ✅ Bill Russell, Wilt Chamberlain, and Larry Bird are the only players to have won three MVP awards in a row. (Source: Team Research)
  • ✅ Nikola Jokic has won the last two MVP awards, making him a top contender for a third. He could join the group of players who have won three in a row. (Source: Team Research)

Leave a Comment